top of page
Search
  • sofakifil

thinking about celebrations

celebration (n.)

1520s, "honoring of a day or season by appropriate festivities," formed in English from celebrate, or else from Latin celebrationem (nominative celebratio) "numerous attendance" (especially upon a festival celebration), noun of action from past-participle stem of celebrare. Meaning "performance of a religious ceremony" (especially the Eucharist) is from 1570s; that of "extolling in speeches, etc." is from 1670s.

celebration (n.)

a joyful occasion for special festivities to mark some happy event;

Synonyms: jubilation

celebration (n.)

any joyous diversion;

Synonyms: festivity

celebration (n.)

the public performance of a sacrament or solemn ceremony with all appropriate ritual;

γιορτή η [jortí] :

σύνολο από χαρούμενες εκδηλώσεις, τελετές ή πανηγυρισμούς που έχουν χαρακτήρα αναμνηστικό για κάποιο σπουδαίο, δημόσιο ή ιδιωτικό γεγονός, ή που γίνονται με την ευκαιρία κάποιου γεγονότος

Τέρψη η [térpsi] :

ευχαρίστηση: Θέαμα που προκαλεί αισθητική ~. || ψυχαγωγία: Aνέκδοτα και αστεία που προκαλούσαν την ~ του ακροατηρίου. || (συνήθ. ειρ.) προς τέρψιν του κοινού / του ακροατηρίου κτλ., για θέαμα ή για ακρόαμα χαμηλής ποιότητας.

Celebration as an attempt to touch

that which is grand

that which is powerful

that which is unreachable

that which is intangible

the Divine, the spiral movement of Time, the beginning of Life and its end, Earth/Sky, Spirit/Body, Light/Darkness, Love/Loss, Mother/Mother Nature

I celebrate to become part of what I am not

Celebration requires sacrifice

Celebration itself is sacrifice

I take myself off myself and reach outwards I take a portion of my life’s time and gift my time and therefore my life to celebrate another

Celebration is hedonistic avoidance of our innate hedonism

Does it give me joy to be selfless or am I selfless because it gives me joy?

Why do I celebrate?

Celebration as an attempt to touch

That which is humble

That which is quiet

That which is always there

That which is mundane

dinner, giggles, irony, the menstrual cycle, the beginning of fever and its end, the garden/earthworms, scars/freckles, insomnia/sleep, Love/Loss, Mother/Mother Nature

I celebrate to reinvent what I am into divinity


Celebration remedies sacrifice

Celebration itself is sacrifice

I take the world off myself and reach inwards I take a portion of my life’s time and make my time and therefore my life the object of celebration

Celebration is hedonistic acceptance of our innate hedonism

Does it give me joy to be or am I that which gives me joy?

Why do I celebrate?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page